Trashigang is the largest district in the country and the bastion of the Tshanglas, the aboriginal inhabitant of the district. The dzong that sits majestically on a ridge overlooking the Dangmechu and the Gamrichu was built in 1651 and over the years has played crucial roles as the Administrative headquarter of the district. It also withstood some of the prominent Tibetan attacks that were launched in the 17thcentury from Tawang in Arunachal Pradesh.
While every village has their own tshechus to celebrate annually, however the highlight is the three day tshechu that is held in the dzong from the 7th to 11th of the tenth month of the Bhutanese calendar that corresponds to the month of December. The tshechu is witnessed by the Brokpas, a semi-nomadic community of Merak and Sakteng, the Khengpa community, and people from as far as Samdrup Jongkhar, Pema Gatshel and Trashi Yangtse.
On the 7thday, the monks take the thrue or the bath and on the 8th have their rehearsals.
On the 9th day, the tshechu begins. On the 10th day is unfurled the thongdrol of Neten Chudrug (Sixteen Arhats) together with different mask dances. On the final day, the old thongdrel of Guru Tshengyed is displayed with Guru Tshengyed Chhams.